Mother’s Day

After three straight days of rain, the sun had finally come out. I took that as a good omen. It’s going to be a good day. Today is Mother’s Day, and good weather is preferable for what I have planned.

Mother’s Day has always been a special day for us, as it is for most mothers and daughters. We do something fun together. Sometimes we go to the movies. Sometimes we go shopping. Sometimes we have brunch outdoors. I sip champagne and she sips sparkling water. What we do isn’t so important, it’s the talking and the laughter that is.

I’m blessed to have a daughter who genuinely likes me, and whom I genuinely like as well. My friends with teenagers assure me that this is not the norm. Their kids generally want nothing to do with them. I know I am lucky. My Anna has always been an exceptional girl.

This is what I’ve been thinking about as I’ve set up our picnic. I layered two thick blankets on top of each other for extra protection against the soggy ground. I lovingly prepared some of her favorite foods. I even brought her a bouquet of daisies, her favorite flower. She usually gives me flowers, but things are different this year. I poured a champagne for me and a sparkling water for Anna, and set it beside her. Even though she can’t drink it, I raise my glass for a toast anyway. “To you, sweetheart, the best daughter and friend a mother could have ever hoped for.”

 

*********

This is the story for the month of May. I’m glad I’m keeping up with my challenge of writing a story for each month of the year…I’ve enjoyed it so far!

Leave a Reply

