A Bell Jingles

I don’t know why, but the words are just flowing out of me today. Some days they come easier than other days, and when they do, I take full advantage. My nose is pointed down towards my notebook and my pen is furiously scratching across the pages. Yes, today I have eschewed technology and gone old school. Sometimes that little change is all it takes for me to get into a writing groove.

So, I’m surprised that when the bell above the door jingles, alerting employees and patrons of this fine coffeehouse that someone is entering, I actually stop what I’m doing and look up. I do not regret that decision. The most beautiful man I have ever seen has just walked through the door.

I swiftly put down my pen, grab my coffee, and absentmindedly start sipping. I know I shouldn’t, but I can’t help staring. Don’t get me wrong here. I would never today or any other day act on this. I am a mostly confident woman, but I’m happily married, so anything other than looking is a no-no. Besides, even if I weren’t, this gorgeous specimen is completely out of my league. I’m confident, yes, but not delusional.

This particular gentleman possesses the three qualities I find most attractive. Tall, dark hair, blue eyes. There you have it. My sexual kryptonite. I make no apologies for it and I do appreciate it when I see it. I watch, with a modicum of subtlety (I hope) as he waits his turn, orders his coffee, and then leaves.

These are the small, unexpected moments that I love. I do not know this person. I will never see him again. But for a few brief minutes, he brought a little joy into my life. With the mundane task of getting his morning coffee, he reminded me that there is beauty in the world, and that when a bell jingles on the coffeehouse door, perhaps I only need to look up to see it.

I smiled, put my coffee back down, and picked up my pen.

 

4 thoughts on “A Bell Jingles

Leave a Reply

