Image

Back To Square One

This post is a little different for me. Instead of sharing a piece of writing, I’m sharing my writing struggle. Over the holidays, I had fallen out of my writing routine. And of course, it was hard to get back in the groove of things. I sat around pouting for a while, then I realized that maybe I needed some help. Even though I knew what I wanted to do and what I should do, I still needed a kick in the pants. That very same day, I got an email from a writing community, with an opportunity to sign up for an online class that promised, in not so many words, to give me that kick in the pants.

My first thought was “yeah, right” but my second thought was that this was a sign. The email landing in my inbox on the very same day I decided to look for help was no accident. It was kismet. Go ahead and laugh if you must. I’ll wait.

The course is for 30 consecutive days. There are tips, many of which I’ve found useful, optional writing prompts, and a writing community to share your triumphs or fails. But most importantly, it has helped me to establish a solid writing routine. That was something I had repeatedly failed to do prior to the course.

Today was Day 19 of the course, so I’m more than halfway through. Yay me! I haven’t yet produced a stellar piece of writing since starting the course, but I have been writing every day, which for me, right now is pretty major.

I feel better about myself as a writer, and for the first time in quite a while, I feel like I can really do this! My writing dream is to write and publish a book. Because of this class, I’ve learned that I can fit writing into my everyday life, and that’s how I will accomplish my dream. Writing every single day, even if only for a short time, is crucial. I have learned that about myself, but only by going back to square one.

Leave a Reply

