Running To Think

image

If there was ever a time I’d been grateful for my gym membership, it’s right now. It’s been a shitty day, to say the least. Nothing burns off my anger and clears my head like a good workout. I would’ve called my best friend, Sydney, but I’m not in the mood for her I-told-you-so’s right now. I love her and all, but I hate it when she’s right.

I can’t believe I took that lowlife creep back, only for him to hurt me again. It wasn’t a decision I made lightly, either. I truly thought he had changed. But just like last time, the joke was on me.

“Don’t be surprised when he breaks your heart—again.” Those were Syd’s exact words when I told her I had gotten back together with him. I was pissed at first by her lack of support, but deep down I knew she had a point. Max and I didn’t have a great track record. How is it that I could be so in love with someone who was so toxic?

God knows I’m not the first girl to fall for a bad boy. It’s just that I never thought Max would be bad to me. He knows exactly how to push my buttons, true, but he’d never been outright cruel before. Not until this morning.

Max did not take the news well. There was yelling, name calling, and a shove up against the wall. That was all done to me by him. I got the hell out of his apartment as fast as my short legs could carry me.

So here’s the situation; Sydney was right, Max is a bad boy who won’t ever change, and I’ve been running on this treadmill for thirty minutes and I still don’t know what to do.

Maybe the difference is that I’m thinking for two now.

Leave a Reply

