Voices

image

I suppose we all have those voices in our heads. Whether we want to admit it or not, they’re there. Sometimes those voices tear us down. Sometimes they lift us up. Sometimes we welcome the voices. Sometimes we just want them to go the hell away.

I don’t know if we can ever get rid of the voices entirely. I just know that I have tried and failed miserably. I have managed to quiet them temporarily, but somehow they find their way back.

What I would like is to quell my negative inner voice. I call her Cynical Cynthia. She’s a total buzzkill and sometimes downright bitchy.

I like my positive inner voice. I call her Certainly Cynthia. She is pretty cool and always has a kind word.
She’s like a good friend—there when I need her.

I try to only pay attention to my positive inner voice, but the other one refuses to be ignored. If I can’t make Cynical Cynthia go away, maybe I can at least learn to tune her out.

Leave a Reply

