Back To School (excerpt from my #Channillo journal series, The Cynthia Chronicles)

image

I love it when my kids go back to school! I guess most parents feel that way. My kids are in year-round school, which means they have nine weeks on and three weeks off. Their summer break is five weeks, with the new school year starting each July. I love that system for a myriad of reasons. The biggest one is that I don’t have to think of ways to entertain them for the entire summer! I love them and love to spend time with them, it’s just that I run out of ideas quickly.

Our tiny summer vacation consisted of lots of pool time, a week at the beach, and even a visit to a lemur center in our area. We got to see all kinds of lemurs up close! That was pretty cool and I got cool mom points that day.

But it’s time to start thinking about the new school year.

*****

Later that evening, I’m sitting with my husband having a cocktail, thinking about how much I spent on school supplies. With two kids, it adds up pretty fast! But the beginning of a new school year also reminds me how fast time flies by, much like their birthdays do. Pretty soon, my kids won’t be kids anymore. They will be grown and ready to take all that they have learned and step out in the world.

When that time comes, there will become a whole new list of concerns. So, until then, I’ll have to remember to enjoy the rituals of a new school year. I’ll miss them when they’re gone!

Leave a Reply

