The Note

image

It never should’ve gone this far. I knew better, but I let it get out of hand. Now he wants to run away with me. Someplace new where we can start a life together. Our flight is leaving in two hours.

I do care for him, and in my own way, I think I even love him. Which is why I know I can’t get on that plane with him. It wouldn’t be right.

Jeremy hadn’t fallen in love with the real me. He doesn’t even know my real name. He thinks it’s Emma. No, he fell in love with the person I was pretending to be. Though come to think of it, I can’t even remember what the real me is like anymore. Occupational hazard.

He will be waiting at the airport for me. He’s probably already on his way. Jeremy deserves a face-to-face explanation, but as usual, I’m just going to run. He deserves the life that he wants, but just not with me. I could never be the woman he thinks I am.

I did leave him a note. Cowardly, I know, but it’s more than I’ve ever done for anyone else.

Jeremy,

I just couldn’t do it. There are things about me that you don’t know, and it’s better that way.

I’m sorry.

E

One thought on “The Note

Leave a Reply

